nwein
Posts: 577
Joined: 2011-03-28
|
I'm trying to set my add-in so that it doesn't load automatically upon launch (outlook 2010, 32-bit) but only on demand.
I've changed the ADXAddinModule LoadBehavior to 9 (Connected;LoadOnDemand) to achieve that.
However, I don't have a new ribbon tab in my add-in. I have my ribbon tab's IdMso set to TabMail (the Home tab in Outlook 2010 Explorer) and now When I load my Outlook I don't see the Home tab at all.
I can somewhat understand the rationale behind this (my add-in is using the same tab), but I don't think it should be like that.
If I have a new ribbon tab (i.e. no IdMso) with the latter LoadBehavior, that new ribbon tab will appear even when the add-in is not loaded (to allow on-demand loading).
Why is this not the case when using built-in tab IdMso's?
How can I make my add-in load on demand when my ribbon groups/buttons/controls are in the default Outlook ribbon?
(ADX 7.6.4084) |
|
Andrei Smolin
Add-in Express team
Posts: 19100
Joined: 2006-05-11
|
Hello Nir,
You'd need to use LoadBehavior=16 (ConnectFirstTime). When you start the host application for the first time and then close it, Office sets the LoadBehavior registry value to 9. Alas, I replicate the issue in this scenario as well. It is now filed under #6199 in our bug-tracking DB. We will be able to look at this in the new year, starting from January, 5.
As soon as I have any news on this issue, I'll let you know.
Andrei Smolin
Add-in Express Team Leader |
|
nwein
Posts: 577
Joined: 2011-03-28
|
Thanks for looking into this.
Happy new year! |
|
Andrei Smolin
Add-in Express team
Posts: 19100
Joined: 2006-05-11
|
Hello Nir,
We've reproduced this issue in a VSTO add-in. It only occurs if a tab element in the Ribbon XML contains both the IdMso and getVisible attributes. You can use the ReplaceGetVisibleWithVisible method (see below VB.NET and C# versions) as a workaround. You call this method in the OnRibbonBeforeLoad event of the add-in module as demonstrated in the examples supplied below. Note that replacing the getVisible attribute with the visble one makes the tab visibility static; you cannot change the visibility of such a tab at run time.
Hope this helps.
Andrei Smolin
Add-in Express Team Leader
Private Function ReplaceGetVisibleWithVisible(ByVal incomingXML As String, ByVal ribbonTab As ADXRibbonTab, Optional ByVal visible As Boolean = True) As String
Dim result As String = String.Empty
Dim lines As String() = incomingXML.Split(Environment.NewLine)
For i As Integer = 0 To lines.Length - 1
If (ribbonTab.IdMso <> String.Empty) Then
If (lines(i).Contains("idMso=""" + ribbonTab.IdMso)) Then
lines(i) = lines(i).Replace("getVisible=""getVisible_Callback""", "visible=""" & visible.ToString().ToLower() + """")
Exit For
End If
End If
Next
For i As Integer = 0 To lines.Length - 1
result += lines(i) + Environment.NewLine
Next
Return result
End Function
Private Sub AddinModule_OnRibbonBeforeLoad(ByVal sender As System.Object, ByVal e As AddinExpress.MSO.ADXRibbonBeforeLoadEventArgs) Handles MyBase.OnRibbonBeforeLoad
e.Xml = ReplaceGetVisibleWithVisible(e.Xml, AdxRibbonTab1, True)
e.Xml = ReplaceGetVisibleWithVisible(e.Xml, AdxRibbonTab2, True)
End Sub
private string ReplaceGetVisibleWithVisible(string ribbonXML, ADXRibbonTab aBuiltinRibbonTab, bool visible)
{
string[] lines =
ribbonXML.Split(new string[] { Environment.NewLine }, StringSplitOptions.None);
for (int i = 0; i < lines.Length; i++)
{
if (lines[i].Contains(aBuiltinRibbonTab.IdMso))
{
lines[i] = lines[i].Replace(@"getVisible=""getVisible_Callback""",
@"visible="""+ visible.ToString().ToLower() + @"""");
break;
}
}
string result = string.Empty;
for (int i = 0; i < lines.Length; i++)
result += lines[i] + Environment.NewLine;
return result;
}
private void AddinModule_OnRibbonBeforeLoad(object sender, ADXRibbonBeforeLoadEventArgs e)
{
e.Xml = ReplaceGetVisibleWithVisible(e.Xml, adxRibbonTab1, true);
e.Xml = ReplaceGetVisibleWithVisible(e.Xml, adxRibbonTab3, false);
} |
|
nwein
Posts: 577
Joined: 2011-03-28
|
Thanks, I'll give it a try |
|